jamovi impossible to run on chromebook

Everything related to development of the jamovi platform

by jonathon » Sun Oct 04, 2020 1:01 am

hi,

if you use the files application in chromeos, somewhere there is the option for linux fs, or perhaps just linux. if you copy the files to that location, you'll be able to open them from within jamovi.

cheers

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 1726
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jmv000 » Sun Oct 04, 2020 1:31 am

I copy file from download folder to Linux file folder and run from there but it does not works and i do not have option to select jamovi (win os option run with..)
jmv000
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2020 12:44 am

by jonathon » Sun Oct 04, 2020 1:32 am

try opening it from *within* jamovi. start up jamovi, click the hamburger menu at the top left, choose open, and then open the file from there.

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 1726
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jmv000 » Sun Oct 04, 2020 1:45 am

When I open Jamovi, this is what I see. There is no hamburger menu.
Attachments
Screenshot 2020-10-03 at 6.41.36 PM.png
Screenshot 2020-10-03 at 6.41.36 PM.png (38.79 KiB) Viewed 1480 times
jmv000
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2020 12:44 am

by jonathon » Sun Oct 04, 2020 1:48 am

see here:

https://www.jamovi.org/user-manual.html#blank-screen-at-startup-on-chromebooks

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 1726
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jmv000 » Sun Oct 04, 2020 2:22 am

great, it worked! Thank you so much for all your help!
jmv000
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2020 12:44 am

by mjeo » Thu Apr 15, 2021 10:13 am

Hi,

I'm sorry, I'm a gardener, I don't do computers, and this is really not my territory; but I'm trying to help my girlfriend getting Jamovi to work on her Chromebook, so here it goes:

I've managed to install Flatpak/Jamovi, and she can now run files from the "Linux Files" directory. However, she cannot save her projects. She gets the error message "Save Failed - No such file or directory". I really don't know what to do but I would guess that the program has some kind of trouble finding the directory to save to (I've tried various), how is it that she can open files that are put in the Linux folder but not save to it?

Sincerely

Jacob
mjeo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2021 10:05 am

by jonathon » Thu Apr 15, 2021 10:30 am

hi jacob,

when you select 'save', choose a folder to save to using the 'browse' button.

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 1726
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by mjeo » Thu Apr 15, 2021 10:48 am

Hi, sorry but I've tried. Same error.
I now created a folder (within the default Linux folder) through Jamovi and tried saving it in that. Unfortunately it doesn't change anything.
mjeo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2021 10:05 am

by jonathon » Thu Apr 15, 2021 10:15 pm

hi,

this sounds like a flatpak issue, so you may need to approach the flatpak folks. your simplest bet might be to simply use the cloud version of jamovi:

https://cloud.jamovi.org

cheers

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 1726
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

PreviousNext

Return to jamovi development