Installation package for Windows does nothing

Discuss the jamovi platform, possible improvements, etc.

by MattClarke » Tue May 22, 2018 1:26 am

I downloaded the installation package for jamovi yesterday -- jamovi-0.9.0.5-win64.exe

When I run that program, nothing seems to happen apart from the cursor "working" icon spinning for 1 second -- no dialog, no error, nothing showing in TaskManager.

I am running Windows 10.

Any ideas?

Matt.
MattClarke
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 1:00 am

by jonathon » Tue May 22, 2018 2:54 am

hi matt,

could you try running the jamovi 'debug console' (should be available from the start menu), then type 'jamovi' into it, and see if it produces any output?

with thanks

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by MattClarke » Wed May 23, 2018 5:02 am

No such thing as 'debug console' in my programs.
It is not that I installed the software and it doesn't run, but that the install package does not install anything.

--Matt
MattClarke
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 1:00 am

by jonathon » Wed May 23, 2018 8:52 am

oh that is strange. could you try downloading again?

with thanks
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by superyms » Wed May 23, 2018 2:15 pm

Hi,

yes this is not named 'console debug'.
please check in your programs for Jamovi 0.9.0.5 Debug (this numbers could change depending on your jamovi version) this is the program that launch the console debug.

best.
superyms
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:54 pm

by jonathon » Wed May 23, 2018 8:46 pm

hey supersyms, it sounds like the issue is with the installer, rather than jamovi.
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by MattClarke » Wed May 23, 2018 11:25 pm

When I downloaded the same file again, i worked. Very strange! From the outside the two copies of the downloaded file look identical, but only the second attempt works.

Anyway, problem is solved for now. Thanks.
MattClarke
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 1:00 am

by jonathon » Thu May 24, 2018 12:12 am

incidentally, if you were wanting to use this on *very large* data sets, i.e. > 100 000 rows, you may run into performance issues. i do have the code committed that improves performance, but it just needs some work from our analysis UI guy.

it will still work, but there will be a couple of gaps. the next hurdle is that our analysis UI guy, is also the guy who builds the windows installers.

the hurdle after that is that we don't support dates (not actually that common in social sciences, so we haven't implemented them yet), so it's necessary to convert them to some other (numeric) representation before importing into jamovi.

so you've really fallen into one of our blind spots!

(adding date support in a short amount of time isn't completely out of the question, however)

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am


Return to General