Copy/paste with column headers

Discuss the jamovi platform, possible improvements, etc.

by RHainez » Fri Jun 29, 2018 6:54 am

Hi,

I was wondering if when selecting datas from a file with the column headers and to copy it into jamovi, it was possible that jamovi identify the headers and put it at their right place? A kind of header=TRUE function.
I did not find the trick so far.

Have a nice day :D
RHainez
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:14 pm

by jonathon » Fri Jun 29, 2018 7:03 am

yeah, this is a really good idea. but tricky to do well.

we need to create some sort of 'paste special'. you suggest really good ideas romaric, but they're never things that are easy! and i feel like i'm always saying "yeah, we'll get to that eventually".

feel free to create an issue so i don't forget about it (and chase me up about it from time to time).

with thanks

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by bbreeze25 » Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:19 pm

thank you for a wonderful software - i just started exploring its capabilities.
i concur on this suggestion above to propose to put into your development queue a possibility to copy data with header titles. it would help a bunch a scientist like me.
bbreeze25
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:12 pm

by jonathon » Wed Aug 29, 2018 9:50 pm

where are you copy/pasting your data from?

(sorry, just trying to get my head around the use-case).

this has probably become our most request feature, so it shouldn't be too far away.

cheers
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by bbreeze25 » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:21 pm

Hi Jonathon,
is there a way to copy data with headers from excel? or have i missed it?
thank you
bbreeze25
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:12 pm

by jonathon » Thu Aug 30, 2018 11:05 pm

oh sorry, no, we don't support this at the moment.

but i'm curious to hear about the situations where people want to use it.

cheers

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by Wake » Thu Jul 25, 2019 11:29 pm

Since Excel is far better than jamovi at manipulating data (and rightly so, since it's a dedicated spreadsheet package) then new variables created using functions that don't exist in jamovi need to be created elsewhere.

In SPSS you can copy and paste just the variable names and, from version 25, you can paste data with variable names attached (this is a feature I've only recently discovered since I've stuck to SPSS 24 for stability reasons).

For some use cases, you can export the data from jamovi, add the calculated variables in Excel and then import the data, along with the new variables, back into jamovi. This seems to work fine, and I'm happy with naming small numbers of variables manually (as when I save factor scores to csv).

Cheers,

Wake
Wake
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 8:31 am

by abhtony » Wed Nov 25, 2020 9:00 pm

Hi,

Just wanted to mention how this doesn't seem to be addressed yet. I have 2 tests, with 98 and 101 questions respectively. So I want my columns to be called something like "T1Q1" to "T1Q98" and then the next set of columns be named from "T2Q1" to T2Q101".

I can do this on Excel quite easily, but I can't seem to find a way to just copy paste this into Jamovi :(

I can save the excel file into .csv and then import that into Jamovi, but then I lose all of the rest of my data in the set. Then I was hoping copy pasting columns within two Jamovi files would work but that doesn't really seem to work either in that the variable titles are all wrong.

Hopefully this gets implemented soon...?
abhtony
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 6:28 pm

by jonathon » Thu Nov 26, 2020 11:42 pm

I can save the excel file into .csv and then import that into Jamovi, but then I lose all of the rest of my data in the set.


talk me through what you mean by this.

cheers

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am


Return to General