MANCOVA guidance

Discuss statistics related things
JUL

MANCOVA guidance

Post by JUL »

Hello,

I am new to the platform, and also to any sort of programming language (though I have figured out syntax before in SPSS). I am running into limitations in SPSS for a particular model and so have been trying to work around by learning R and just moved to trying jamovi. All this to say, I'm very much a novice with this!

I have a dataset with both multiple dependent and independent variables (all continuous). I also have sex as a variable which may be having an effect. When I run it in SPSS, I cannot get a generalized linear model (or anything I can put multiple dependents into) to exclude list-wise rather than case-wise, and because most cases have some data missing, I end up with virtually no cases being included. So I believe I need MANCOVA to deal with this situation, but I can't figure out how to do it in jamovi. I saw the MANCOVA and jmv packages in R which led me here, but I am just so unfamiliar with programming that I'm still rather stumped. I can't see a MANCOVA test explicitly in the jamovi interface so think here I'll need code too? I saw the following in another question forum that you had posted, but don't know how to get from there to my own data:

# Data
npk2 <- within(npk, foo <- rnorm(24))

# Fit model using only manova function
result1 <- manova(cbind(yield, foo) ~ block + N*P*K, npk2)

# Fit model using lm + manova
model <- lm(cbind(yield, foo) ~ block + N*P*K, npk2)
result2 <- manova(model)

# Extract MANOVA test results
summary(result1)

# Extract univariate ANOVA results
summary.aov(result1)

Any thoughts / guidance would be very much appreciated.
jonathon

Re: MANCOVA guidance

Post by jonathon »

this won't do it for you?
Screen Shot 2019-03-03 at 13.49.44.png
Screen Shot 2019-03-03 at 13.49.44.png (11.67 KiB) Viewed 4580 times
jonathon
JUL

Post by JUL »

Oh dear - how did I miss that earlier!? Too much staring at this screen.