Jmvtools::check() not answering at all?

General help and assistance with jamovi. Bug reports can be made at our issues page: https://github.com/jamovi/jamovi/issues . (If you're unsure feel free to discuss it here)

by Burner » Sun Mar 28, 2021 10:55 pm

Hi,
I'm unsure if I'm doing something wrong here, I'm very new to R in general.

After I managed to get jmvtools down, following the tutorial on getting started, I tried to use check.
As I understand from a coworker trying it, they get either a yes or a no.
In RStudio I get nothing, it simply jumps to the next line without any answer:

>jmvtools::check()
>

Have anyone else experienced this? I'm on Windows if that helps.
version() works, but install() gives the same problem...
Burner
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 10:49 pm

by sbalci » Mon Mar 29, 2021 6:25 am

locate jamovi bin folder via this:
jmvtools::check("C://Program Files//jamovi//bin")
I recommend changing folder name from default "jamovi 1.2" to "jamovi"
sbalci
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:25 pm

by sbalci » Mon Mar 29, 2021 6:28 am

You may also try this repository: https://github.com/sbalci/jamoviTemplate
sbalci
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:25 pm

by MAgojam » Mon Mar 29, 2021 10:29 am

Hi, @Burner.
With options set the jamovi_home environment variable to the folder where you installed the version of jamovi you use.
This is the output in Console:

> library ("jmvtools")
> options (jamovi_home = 'c:/Program Files/jamovi 1.6.21.0')
> jmvtools::check ()

jamovi compiler

jamovi 1.6.21 found at c:\Program Files\jamovi 1.6.21.0\bin\jamovi.exe
>

Cheers,
Maurizio
User avatar
MAgojam
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:33 pm
Location: Parma (Italy)

by Burner » Mon Mar 29, 2021 8:50 pm

sbalci wrote:You may also try this repository: https://github.com/sbalci/jamoviTemplate


Thank you! I tried checking with the specified place, but that didn't work. Maybe it will from this repo.
Burner
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 10:49 pm

by Burner » Mon Mar 29, 2021 8:56 pm

MAgojam wrote:Hi, @Burner.
With options set the jamovi_home environment variable to the folder where you installed the version of jamovi you use.
This is the output in Console:

> library ("jmvtools")
> options (jamovi_home = 'c:/Program Files/jamovi 1.6.21.0')
> jmvtools::check ()

jamovi compiler

jamovi 1.6.21 found at c:\Program Files\jamovi 1.6.21.0\bin\jamovi.exe
>

Cheers,
Maurizio


Thank you, it does unfortunately not work with this either. It still does not answer anything back.
Burner
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 10:49 pm

by Burner » Wed Mar 31, 2021 10:26 pm

I have so far tried installing it in R instead of RStudio, but getting the same result.
I also tried reinstalling both R and RStudio, and remembered that instead of using the line:
install.packages("jmvtools", repos = c("http://repo.jamovi.org", "http://cran.r-project.org"))

I had to separately download jmvtools_1.8.2.tar.gz and node_1.1.tar.gz instead, since for some reason my computer did not want to connect to the repo, this is the error message I got:
Warning in install.packages :
unable to access index for repository http://repo.jamovi.org/bin/windows/contrib/4.0:
cannot open URL 'http://repo.jamovi.org/bin/windows/contrib/4.0/PACKAGES'

From what I can tell there should not be any difference in installing them as separate packages than in the package, but I figured I should write my progress in case someone else had this problem after doing it this way :relaxed:
Burner
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 10:49 pm

by jonathon » Fri Apr 02, 2021 10:27 pm

hi,

"this is the error message I got"

that's actually just a warning, and doesn't affect the installation of the packages.

this is quite puzzling. i've never seen this before.

so this is the check function here:

https://github.com/jamovi/jmvtools/blob/master/R/main.R#L34-L50

so try running the equivalent, something like:

system2(node::node(), c(jmvtools:::jmcPath(), '--home', 'path/to/jamovi', '--check'))

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 1719
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by Burner » Mon Apr 05, 2021 3:21 pm

Hi,
I tried running the line, still no reply at all unfortunately.
I also tried to install everything on my boyfriends computer, where it worked great, first try on everything. He also have Windows, so I'm now very lost.
The only differences is that his computer
a) did not get the warning about it being unable to access index and
b) his virus protection asked if ellips(?) could be changed by something.
I'm really wishing I would have written that down.
Burner
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 10:49 pm

by jonathon » Mon Apr 05, 2021 10:29 pm

yeah, there's something funny going on with your computer here. could you try executing in R:

system2('C:/Windows/System32/calc.exe')

this should start the windows calculator ... if it doesn't, it suggests there's something wrong with your R's ability to execute new programs.

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 1719
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

Next

Return to Help