Save computed vars to jamovi, using Rj or similar

General help and assistance with jamovi. Bug reports can be made at our issues page: https://github.com/jamovi/jamovi/issues . (If you're unsure feel free to discuss it here)
anbech

Save computed vars to jamovi, using Rj or similar

Post by anbech »

Hi

What would be the best way to define recurring recoding / computations outside of jamovis compute/recode UI, and have the resulting variables saved into jamovi's spreadsheet data frame?

I have tried using the Rj (Rj+) module, but I can't figure out a way to save new variables back into jamovi (maybe Rj cannot write data). It seems Rj only provides me with a copy of the data frame. I'm not very experienced in R, so I might have overlooked the obvious R command to use.

Preferably I would like at method that would be easily accessible to students, e.g. like Rj, so they don't have to leave jamovi for the task.

--

Side note: a big thanks to the developers/contributors. We just switched from SAS-jmp to jamovi for a course in introductory statistics. I really love it. Great UI -> simpler to teach. Students can actually use the program after they graduate (no prohibitive license costs). In-built upgrade path to R. What's not to like :-)

Best regards
Anders
MAgojam

Re: Save computed vars to jamovi, using Rj or similar

Post by MAgojam »

Hey Anders,

do you think you might be interested in taking a look at the screenshot of my recent reply in this post:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1084&start=10#p8650
Otherwise it comes back.

Cheers,
Maurizio
anbech

Post by anbech »

Sweet! Thanks Maurizio!
(what a coincidence, I had not seen the other post, but it seemed you just announced this feature a few days back)

Here is the most basic example, in case somebody needs it
[EDIT: I have cut it down to one line - I originally had an unnecessary line]

Code: Select all

data <- cbind(data, my_sum = data$a + data$b + 10)