Jamovi 0.8.2.2 can´t open and create new

General help and assistance with jamovi. Bug reports can be made at our issues page: https://github.com/jamovi/jamovi/issues . (If you're unsure feel free to discuss it here)

by jajaja » Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:11 pm

Hello,
I downloaded the latest version of Jamovi (0.8.2.2). Installation was ok, but i can´t launch it for the first try, i have to click on it two times (rirst time it doesn´t do anything). When I launch it, I see only blank page and I´m not able to open or create anything (jamovi doesn´t react to click on New or Open, but react normally to click on Save and Export).
I have WIndows 10 Home 64-bit. Can you help me?
Thank you!
jajaja
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:04 pm

by jonathon » Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:03 am

hi,

are you running a version of windows in a language different to english?

from the start menu, there's an option called 'jamovi debug'. if you run this, you'll be presented with a console. can you type

python

into this console, hit enter, and see if there are any error messages? maybe send us a screenshot if you can.

with thanks
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jajaja » Thu Feb 22, 2018 7:29 am

Hello,
yes, I´m using Czech language.
Here is the screenshot.
Thank you
Attachments
jamovi screenshot.jpg
jamovi screenshot.jpg (54.63 KiB) Viewed 2157 times
jajaja
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:04 pm

by jonathon » Thu Feb 22, 2018 11:10 am

great, thanks.

can you try running (at the console)

jamovi --py-debug

this should write a debug file (it will tell you where it's writing it), can you send that in?

with thanks
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jajaja » Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:38 pm

It creates only empty jamovi-log.txt file and launch jamovi
jajaja
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:04 pm

by jonathon » Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:50 am

hi,

so the first time jamovi starts, it gets "stuck", then when you start it a second time, it starts a new window in the "stuck" version. i think you're getting an empty jamovi-log.txt because there's already an instance of jamovi "stuck" in the background. if when you run `jamovi --py-debug` a jamovi window pops up, then that's the second run.

could you kill off the "stuck" version of jamovi (either through the task manager, or by restarting your computer), and try running `jamovi --py-debug` as the first?

hopefully then there'll be some content in jamovi-log.txt

with thanks
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jonathon » Fri Feb 23, 2018 2:00 am

another thing you could try is running the commands:

set PYTHONPATH=../Resources/jamovi/server
python -m jamovi.server

this will hopefully start up with something like `ports: 1337, 1338, 1339`

then you can try accessing with a web browser, the address:

http://localhost:1337

let us know if any errors occur along the way.

thanks for your help.

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jajaja » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:07 pm

Thank you, I will post a .txt file.
When I tried your second tip, nothing happened and WIndows showed me an error message "program Python has stopped working".
Thank you for your help
Attachments
jamovi-log.txt
(192.93 KiB) Downloaded 156 times
jajaja
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:04 pm

by jonathon » Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:01 pm

great! thanks very much.

could you repeat the `jamovi --py-debug` command, and send us another log file? the log file seems to end prematurely, and i want to double check that it is getting stuck at the same place.

with thanks
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jajaja » Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:55 am

Hi,
there is the second file.
Thanks
Attachments
jamovi-log.txt
(192.93 KiB) Downloaded 156 times
jajaja
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:04 pm

Next

Return to Help