[SOLVED] Problems getting started

General help and assistance with jamovi. Bug reports can be made at our issues page: https://github.com/jamovi/jamovi/issues . (If you're unsure feel free to discuss it here)
pitto
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 10:42 pm

[SOLVED] Problems getting started

Post by pitto »

Hi

I have just tried to use jamovi, however when I launch the app I am not seeing the jamovi window, as my colleague does, and therefore cannot start a session or explore the software. The software appears to be open as evidenced by the jamovi menu appearing at the top of the screen, just no window available to be able to start using it.

I am running Mac OS 10.10.5 (Yosemite) and have the same problem with both jamovi 0.6.8.8 and 0.7.0.0. I have tried a restart after download and install.

Just wondering if you had any tips on things to check for?

Thanks

Toni
User avatar
jonathon
Posts: 2617
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

Re: Problems getting started

Post by jonathon »

hi tony, thanks for getting in touch.

how comfortable are you in using the terminal? if you bring up the terminal, and run:

Code: Select all

/Applications/jamovi.app/Contents/MacOS/jamovi
does it provide any error messages?
(note that this assumes you have it installed in /Applications)

with thanks

jonathon
pitto
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 10:42 pm

Re: Problems getting started

Post by pitto »

Hi Jonathon

Thanks for the reply. Below is the output from the terminal after I ran your suggested code (/Applications/jamovi.app/Contents/MacOS/jamovi).

I'm not sure what any of it means.

Thanks

Toni


/Applications/jamovi.app/Contents/MacOS/jamovi
<<<< VTVideoEncoderSelection >>>> VTSelectAndCreateVideoEncoderInstanceInternal: no video encoder found for 'avc1'

[09:07:29.771] VTSelectAndCreateVideoEncoderInstanceInternal signalled err=-12908 (err) (Video encoder not available) at /SourceCache/CoreMedia_frameworks/CoreMedia-1562.240/Sources/VideoToolbox/VTVideoEncoderSelection.c line 1245
[09:07:29.771] VTCompressionSessionCreate signalled err=-12908 (err) (Could not select and open encoder instance) at /SourceCache/CoreMedia_frameworks/CoreMedia-1562.240/Sources/VideoToolbox/VTCompressionSession.c line 946
/Applications/jamovi.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python35.zip/nanomsg_wrappers/__init__.py:22: UserWarning: Could not load the default wrapper for your platform: cpy, performance may be affected!

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "runpy.pyc", line 174, in _run_module_as_main
File "runpy.pyc", line 133, in _get_module_details
File "runpy.pyc", line 109, in _get_module_details
File "/Applications/jamovi.app/Contents/Resources/jamovi/server/jamovi/server/__init__.py", line 5, in <module>
from .server import Server
File "/Applications/jamovi.app/Contents/Resources/jamovi/server/jamovi/server/server.py", line 9, in <module>
from .clientconnection import ClientConnection
File "/Applications/jamovi.app/Contents/Resources/jamovi/server/jamovi/server/clientconnection.py", line 8, in <module>
from .instance import Instance
File "/Applications/jamovi.app/Contents/Resources/jamovi/server/jamovi/server/instance.py", line 19, in <module>
from .enginemanager import EngineManager
File "/Applications/jamovi.app/Contents/Resources/jamovi/server/jamovi/server/enginemanager.py", line 11, in <module>
import nanomsg
File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 969, in _find_and_load
File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 958, in _find_and_load_unlocked
File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 664, in _load_unlocked
File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 634, in _load_backward_compatible
File "nanomsg/__init__.pyc", line 7, in <module>
File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 969, in _find_and_load
File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 958, in _find_and_load_unlocked
File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 664, in _load_unlocked
File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 634, in _load_backward_compatible
File "nanomsg/wrapper.pyc", line 4, in <module>
File "nanomsg_wrappers/__init__.pyc", line 23, in load_wrapper
File "importlib/__init__.pyc", line 126, in import_module
File "/Applications/jamovi.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python3.5/_nanomsg_ctypes/__init__.py", line 13, in <module>
_lib = ctypes.cdll.LoadLibrary('libnanomsg.so')
File "ctypes/__init__.pyc", line 425, in LoadLibrary
File "ctypes/__init__.pyc", line 347, in __init__
OSError: dlopen(libnanomsg.so, 6): image not found
User avatar
jonathon
Posts: 2617
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

Re: Problems getting started

Post by jonathon »

hey, thanks for helping out.

this is a bit strange, i can see what's happening, but not sure why it's happening. we rely on a messaging library called nanomsg, and for whatever reason it is failing to load. fortunately, there's a backup system, but this isn't loading properly either.

i think if i update jamovi to use the development version of nanomsg this will work.

i'll let you know how i get on.

with thanks
User avatar
jonathon
Posts: 2617
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

Re: Problems getting started

Post by jonathon »

actually, could you try executing the following at the terminal as well:

Code: Select all

env | grep PYTHON
cheers
pitto
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 10:42 pm

Re: Problems getting started

Post by pitto »

Hi

I do not get any output from the env | grep PYTHON code.

cheers
User avatar
jonathon
Posts: 2617
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

Re: Problems getting started

Post by jonathon »

cool, thanks for confirming. i'll dig a bit more into this in the coming days.
CSC
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 2:50 am

Re: Problems getting started

Post by CSC »

Hi,

I got the same problem in my surface pro 4. OS is win10. I got the error messages from the terminal:
jamovi
version: 0.0.0
cli: 0.0.0
ports: 3934, 3935, 3936
Engine process terminated with exit code 3221225512


ERROR:jamovi:Engine process terminated with exit code 3221225512


Engine process terminated with exit code 255

cleaning up: 6a1384ca-6dbb-45aa-ade7-a53412bb89c7

ERROR:jamovi:Engine process terminated with exit code 255

INFO:jamovi:cleaning up: 6a1384ca-6dbb-45aa-ade7-a53412bb89c7
Exception in thread Thread-2:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "D:\Apps\jamovi-0.7.0.2\bin\lib\threading.py", line 914, in _bootstrap_inner
self.run()
File "D:\Apps\jamovi-0.7.0.2\bin\lib\threading.py", line 862, in run
self._target(*self._args, **self._kwargs)
File "D:\Apps\jamovi-0.7.0.2\Resources\jamovi\server\jamovi\server\instance.py", line 75, in run
instance.close()
File "D:\Apps\jamovi-0.7.0.2\Resources\jamovi\server\jamovi\server\instance.py", line 156, in close
self._em.stop()
File "D:\Apps\jamovi-0.7.0.2\Resources\jamovi\server\jamovi\server\enginemanager.py", line 227, in stop
self._engines[index].stop()
File "D:\Apps\jamovi-0.7.0.2\Resources\jamovi\server\jamovi\server\enginemanager.py", line 99, in stop
self._socket.send(message.SerializeToString())
File "D:\Apps\jamovi-0.7.0.2\bin\lib\site-packages\nanomsg\__init__.py", line 396, in send
_nn_check_positive_rtn(wrapper.nn_send(self.fd, msg, flags))
File "D:\Apps\jamovi-0.7.0.2\bin\lib\site-packages\nanomsg\__init__.py", line 63, in _nn_check_positive_rtn
raise NanoMsgAPIError()
nanomsg.NanoMsgAPIError: Bad file descriptor
By the way, jamovi could be boosted regularly in my desktop PC that run win7.

best wish,

Sau-Chin Chen
User avatar
jonathon
Posts: 2617
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

Re: Problems getting started

Post by jonathon »

hi CSC,

thanks for reporting this. could you run

Code: Select all

set
at the console/terminal, and send in it's output?

with thanks
CSC
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 2:50 am

Re: Problems getting started

Post by CSC »

Hi Jonathon,

Here is my setting:
ALLUSERSPROFILE=C:\ProgramData
APPDATA=C:\Users\pid\AppData\Roaming
CommonProgramFiles=C:\Program Files\Common Files
CommonProgramFiles(x86)=C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files
CommonProgramW6432=C:\Program Files\Common Files
COMPUTERNAME=SC-SURFACE
ComSpec=C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
CYGWIN=mintty
FPS_BROWSER_APP_PROFILE_STRING=Internet Explorer
FPS_BROWSER_USER_PROFILE_STRING=Default
HOMEDRIVE=C:
HOMEPATH=\Users\pid
LOCALAPPDATA=C:\Users\pid\AppData\Local
LOGONSERVER=\\SC-SURFACE
NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=4
OneDrive=C:\Users\pid\OneDrive
OS=Windows_NT
Path=C:\ProgramData\Oracle\Java\javapath;C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\System32\Wbem;C:\WINDOWS\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;D:\Apps\Rtools\bin;D:\Apps\Rtools\gcc-4.6.3\bin;d:\apps\Rtools\mingw_64\bin;D:\Apps\python2\;D:\Apps\python2\Scripts;D:\Apps\OpenSSH\bin;D:\Apps\WinSCP\;D:\Apps\Git\cmd;D:\Apps\Skype\Phone\;D:\Apps\Ruby200-x64\bin;%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps;
PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH;.MSC
PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=AMD64
PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER=Intel64 Family 6 Model 78 Stepping 3, GenuineIntel
PROCESSOR_LEVEL=6
PROCESSOR_REVISION=4e03
ProgramData=C:\ProgramData
ProgramFiles=C:\Program Files
ProgramFiles(x86)=C:\Program Files (x86)
ProgramW6432=C:\Program Files
PROMPT=$P$G
PSModulePath=C:\WINDOWS\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules\
PUBLIC=C:\Users\Public
SESSIONNAME=Console
SystemDrive=C:
SystemRoot=C:\WINDOWS
TEMP=C:\Users\pid\AppData\Local\Temp
TMP=C:\Users\pid\AppData\Local\Temp
USERDOMAIN=SC-SURFACE
USERDOMAIN_ROAMINGPROFILE=SC-SURFACE
USERNAME=XXXXXX
USERPROFILE=C:\Users\pid
windir=C:\WINDOWS
By the way, the default language of my windows 10 is traditional Chinese.

thanks.
Post Reply