[RESOLVED] the jamovi server could not be started,...

General help and assistance with jamovi. Bug reports can be made at our issues page: https://github.com/jamovi/jamovi/issues . (If you're unsure feel free to discuss it here)

by nasimpian » Fri Oct 26, 2018 10:11 am

Hi everyone,

Im facing a problem right after installing either the ''current version'' or the ''solid'' one. While starting it always shows me the same message ''Unable to open, system cannot find the path specified'' The same message occurs whenever I try to open either a csv or omv file. It doesn't even open its own ''example'' files. Another observation is that the left side on the starting page is blank; where there should be little boxes and columns like ''excel programm''. If Jonathan or anyone else could help me, I would really appreciate it!
Thank you!!!
nasimpian
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 9:50 am

by dropmann » Fri Oct 26, 2018 11:37 am

Hi nasimpian,

In order to try and get to the bottom of the issue, could you try the following.

1. Open jamovi
2. Press F10 to open the devtools window
3. Expand the panel at the bottom of the window that might contain errors.
4. Take a screenshot and post it back here

and let see where that gets us
dropmann
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:26 am

by nasimpian » Sat Oct 27, 2018 4:34 pm

Hi Dropmann and thanks for the reply,

Here are two screenshots. If you recognise the problem and know how to solve it please let me know!
Attachments
Screenshot (3).png
missing boxes
Screenshot (3).png (90.61 KiB) Viewed 969 times
Screenshot (1).png
bottom right side notification
Screenshot (1).png (107.51 KiB) Viewed 969 times
nasimpian
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 9:50 am

by daisyalice » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:13 pm

I am a student on a MSc Psychology course and I specifically bought a new computer because my old one could not handle downloading Jamovi which I need for my stats.
I downloaded and used Jamovi for one day without any problems and now I have the same message occurring "server could not be reached...etc"
PLEASE tell me this is fixable. I am on windows 10 and my assignment is due in 12 days and I have to commute into uni if I can't use my home computer.
daisyalice
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:08 pm

by jonathon » Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:02 am

hi daisy,

could you try the latest (current) version and see if you still have the issue?

otherwise, probably the only way we'll be able to figure this out is by getting access to your computer with something like teamviewer.

if that would be possible, drop us a line at contact <at> jamovi.org

kind regards

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 871
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

Previous

Return to Help