[RESOLVED] Rj Editor can't detect jmvconnect

General help and assistance with jamovi. Bug reports can be made at our issues page: https://github.com/jamovi/jamovi/issues . (If you're unsure feel free to discuss it here)

by michaelpi » Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:24 pm

Hey,
First of all, thanks for making great software!

I'm having trouble using the Rj Editor. I've install jmvconnect, but for some reason, whenever I try to switch to the system R, I get an error message telling me jmvconnect must be installed to use it.

I've reinstalled R and made sure that the registry keys were added.
I've also verified that RStudio is able to locate the system R binaries.

Is there anymore info I can provide to help troubleshooting?

Thanks!
Michael
michaelpi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:16 pm

by jonathon » Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:36 pm

so i'm guessing that jmvconnect has been installed to somewhere a bit unusual, and your R session has some configuration or similar which helps it find it, where as jamovi is a bit more strict, or doesn't have access to as much information.

what does this output:

installed.packages()['jmvconnect','LibPath']

with thanks
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by michaelpi » Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:06 pm

> installed.packages()['jmvconnect','LibPath']
[1] "C:/Users/[USERNAME]/R/win-library/3.5"
michaelpi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:16 pm

by jonathon » Mon Oct 01, 2018 4:57 am

hmm, R is a bit strange. sometimes it can find these things, and sometimes it can't.

i've pushed what i think is a fix. if you uninstall Rj, and reinstall from the jamovi library, it *should* be able to find it.

let me know how you get on.

with thanks

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by michaelpi » Mon Oct 01, 2018 9:33 pm

I've removed the module, and installed it again.no luck..
I've also, just to be sure, did this again, with a restart to jamovi between the removal and re-installation. still, no luck...
The Rj version I'm seeing now is 1.0.2. (jamovi 9.4.2)

Anything else you'd like me to try?
Thanks!
michaelpi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:16 pm

by jonathon » Mon Oct 01, 2018 9:56 pm

hmm, how are you installing it? if you're installing from the library, you should be getting 1.0.3

if you're side-loading, then use this link:

https://library.jamovi.org/modules/Rj_1.0.3-win64.jmo

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by michaelpi » Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:57 am

Maybe I've stumbled upon an unrelated bug? See the incongruity in Rjs version in the 'installed' and 'available' views:
Rj versions.gif
Rj versions.gif (103.56 KiB) Viewed 2267 times


but still no dice..
michaelpi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:16 pm

by jonathon » Tue Oct 02, 2018 4:02 am

hmm. what does this command output?:

readRegistry('Software\\R-core\\R', 'HLM')

with thanks
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by michaelpi » Tue Oct 02, 2018 12:21 pm

> readRegistry('Software\\R-core\\R', 'HLM')
$`Current Version`
[1] "3.5.1"

$InstallPath
[1] "C:\\Program Files\\R\\R-3.5.1"

$`3.5.1`
[1] "<subkey>"
michaelpi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:16 pm

by jonathon » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:46 pm

your username doesn't have international characters in it, does it?

with thanks

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

Next

Return to Help