[RESOLVED] the jamovi server could not be started,...

General help and assistance with jamovi. Bug reports can be made at our issues page: https://github.com/jamovi/jamovi/issues . (If you're unsure feel free to discuss it here)

by Folax » Tue Sep 18, 2018 2:34 pm

Dear Jamovi Team,

First, I'd like to thank your team for the job done on Jamovi. It is so good that we decided to use it in our statistical courses and feel like it fits with the aim of the teaching.

I just purchased a new laptop (Windows 10) and, after a successful installation, I received the following frightening message "Unfortunately, the jamovi server could not be started, and jamovi must now close. We regret the inconvenience. Please report your experiences to the jamovi team".

I saw that another guy experienced this on linux and, apparently, you found a solution. Did you hear of other people experiencing it with Windows ?

I imagine some of our students will experience the same and I hope we can find a solution. I will try answering quickly if you have questions.

Best regards,
Folax

PS: I tried with solid, with current, and with the zip version. Same output everytime
Folax
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 2:29 pm

by jonathon » Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:44 pm

hi folax,

yes, it's an issue which affects a very small number of computers, < .1% is my current estimate.

because it's so rare, i haven't been able to get to get access to a computer which has the issue, so haven't been able to fix it.

it's not uncommon for a software project to find that one's software won't work on a small number of (usually windows) machines, and it's not really clear why.

all this to say, it sucks that it doesn't work on your computer, i'm super-keen to get to the bottom of it, but so far haven't been able to, but it's unlikely that this will be a problem amongst your students. i'm in touch with a lot of people using jamovi in their courses, and this hasn't come forward as an issue.

just to double-check it's not something obvious, could you run jamovi in debug mode? (you'll find the option in the start menu). see if there's any useful error messages.

with thanks

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by Folax » Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:46 am

Hi Jonathon,
Thanks for your answer. I receive the same message in debug mode.
Thursday we will have a nice sample of 250 installations, maybe with 40% on Windows. I'll tell you if your 0.1% is a correct estimation then.
If you have any idea how to get debug it, I am willing to be your tester.
Best,
Folax
Folax
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 2:29 pm

by jonathon » Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:57 am

I'll tell you if your 0.1% is a correct estimation then.


this is actually a pretty good stats exercise question... "a software developer claims that ..."

kind regards
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by dropmann » Wed Sep 19, 2018 11:21 am

Hi Folax,

Just to determine the different ways we might be able to get to the bottom of your issue, do you mind me asking where in the world you are located? Just making sure you're not just down the road.

kind regards
dropmann
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:26 am

by Folax » Wed Sep 19, 2018 12:25 pm

Hi dropmann,
I'm in Lausanne, Switzerland. I sent you a private message contact at jamovi. If we eventually come to a solution I would describe it here.
Best,
Folax
Folax
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 2:29 pm

by matej » Wed Sep 26, 2018 7:53 am

Hi everyone,

is there any new information regarding this issue?
we are using jamovi in two courses - approx 140 students altogether and one has encountered this error (maybe more, we will see next Monday :) ).
system info from the one computer are attached.

M.
Attachments
system.jpg
system.jpg (83.1 KiB) Viewed 1773 times
matej
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 7:45 am

by jonathon » Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:31 am

hi,

sorry, no progress. it's a very obscure bug, which affects very few people, and we haven't been able to get to the bottom of it. it does seem to occur on very low-spec hardware however. and it looks to be a bug in windows itself. :/

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jonathon » Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:36 am

will be fixed in a subsequent release. in the mean time there's this.

https://www.jamovi.org/downloads/jamovi ... 4-py37.exe

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by Folax » Mon Oct 08, 2018 6:26 am

Thank you Jonathon for your work.
Folax
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 2:29 pm

Next

Return to Help