[RESOLVED] Jamovi crashes with sas7bdat files

General help and assistance with jamovi. Bug reports can be made at our issues page: https://github.com/jamovi/jamovi/issues . (If you're unsure feel free to discuss it here)

by jllipatz » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:55 am

Jamovi either crashes (within Python) or refuses to load my SAS files.
I am working with Windows server and SAS 9.4
jllipatz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:41 am

by jonathon » Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:23 pm

can you attach a file which does this?

with thanks
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jllipatz » Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:59 am

Of course I wanted to. But I cannot see how.
Sorry.
jllipatz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:41 am

by jonathon » Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:01 am

something like this:

https://youtu.be/yZOb3bbLUu0

or you can just email it to contact <at> jamovi.org

with thanks
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jllipatz » Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:26 am

I just sent an example on tour contact mail box.
jllipatz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:41 am

by jonathon » Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:47 am

thanks for bringing this to our attention. i've tracked down the issue, and we'll issue a new release in the next 24 hours.

we use a library called ReadStat, which is what haven is built on top of. so anything haven can open, we should be able to open as well. in this case, a format specifier was coming through as null, which i didn't realise was possible, and so i wasn't checking for it.

cheers

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jonathon » Wed Jan 16, 2019 2:33 am

fixed in the 0.9.5.16
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jllipatz » Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:02 pm

    Thanks a lot.
    I can confirm that almost one problem has been solved. Using a computer with 100GO RAM the file opens, but I am still unable to open it, (a relatively small file : 30 000 lines) on my PC with 4GO RAM. I can imagine that there are limits (a bit low?) but the end of the story is not clear : "Python a cesse de fonctionner".
    jllipatz
     
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:41 am

    by jonathon » Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:48 pm

    hi,

    is this occurring when you open the data set you sent through, in the 0.9.5.16?

    with thanks

    jonathon
    User avatar
    jonathon
     
    Posts: 895
    Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

    by jllipatz » Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:14 am

    Yes, same version.
    jllipatz
     
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:41 am

    Next

    Return to Help