GLMM - Need some help setting up my data

General help and assistance with jamovi. Bug reports can be made at our issues page: https://github.com/jamovi/jamovi/issues . (If you're unsure feel free to discuss it here)
Rageofanarchy

GLMM - Need some help setting up my data

Post by Rageofanarchy »

Hello there,

I'm a PhD student and have found myself here as I think I need to run a GLMM on the data I collected for a study. I've learned so much about statistics in the last week or so and have gone down the rabbit hole of GLMM (hence why I found Jamovi), but I'm not confident in what my data should look like in terms of set up and how to interpret the results.

I'll outline my study briefly and how I'm trying to set it up in Jamovi - I've had some loading errors which makes me think I'm asking it to calculate too many variables at once, but I'm not really sure what is happening in the background to know definitively.

Ok, so I took four classes of English second language leaners and taught them 20 words with two different methods. The participants in the four classes were divided into Group A and Group B. The former group did words 1-10 with method #1 and words 11-20 with method #2, and the latter group did words 1-10 with method #2 and words 11-20 with method #1.

The data points that I have are:

Participant IDs (39 participants in total)
Pre / Post / Delayed Post tests
The 20 words
What method they used to study each word
Whether they were correct or incorrect on each item (the binary dependent variable)
Group A or B
Class (there were four levels)

The biggest problem that I'm struggling with so far is that I need the analysis to take into consideration that depending on the group, participants have studied the same words but with different methods. To give an example:

Participant #1 - "Group A" - Studied "Set Up" with the "Retrieval Method" which was "Correct"