Need help with Fisher's exact test

General help and assistance with jamovi. Bug reports can be made at our issues page: https://github.com/jamovi/jamovi/issues . (If you're unsure feel free to discuss it here)
NewAtThis

Need help with Fisher's exact test

Post by NewAtThis »

Hi everyone, I am a med student with hardly any knowledge of statistics, so apologies for the trivial questions.

1. I wanted to do a chi-squared test on some data. However, the data didn't meet the requirements of observed and expected counts. Therefore, I changed it to Fisher's exact test. With this, I did get a significant p, but the "Value" space is blank. What could be the reason for this? Is the result of the test still valid?

2. Concerning some other data, I want to test different locations of a tumor depending on whether it is a recurrent or primary tumor. So, for each row in my sheet, there is a column with "recurrent or primary tumor" and a column with the category "tumor location", i.e. "upper eyelid, lower eyelid, eyebrow" etc. The chi-squared test yielded a significant p-value, so my clinical supervisor told me to now test all the individual items, in order to figure out where exactly the significance came from. How do I get the chi-squared test to individually consider each category of location?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
reason180

Re: Need help with Fisher's exact test

Post by reason180 »

Hi. FYI: Typically, I think questions get answered more effectively when the questioner provides a jamovi omv file containing either the data or some very similar made-up data.

(1) Customarily, no test statistic is reported for Fisher's exact test. That's why there's no "value."

(2) To conduct a different chi square contingency test for each of several subsets of the data, you would need to either: