QQ Plot labels

General help and assistance with jamovi. Bug reports can be made at our issues page: https://github.com/jamovi/jamovi/issues . (If you're unsure feel free to discuss it here)

by David » Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:39 am

Hi, under descriptives when qq plotting a continuous variable the y axis is labelled "standardised residual". I'm trying to understand what the residual is?

Ta!
David
David
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 10:18 am

by jonathon » Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:04 am

wait, is this a very british way of pointing out there's no s on residuals?

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jonathon » Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:35 am

oh wait, yeah, i see your point. we might have copy/pasted some code there :P
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by David » Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:39 am

haha, nope I'm not being British. I get that QQ plots of residuals are useful for regression diagnostics, but I am not clear what the residuals might be when looking at a sample distribution. I thought I might be being a bit thick...

ps the QQ plots are also labelled this way for t-test diagnostics...
David
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 10:18 am

by jonathon » Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:41 am

yeah, they're just z-scores. same as Q-Q plot if you did a one-sample t-test.
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by David » Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:45 am

yeah that makes sense. I'm teaching this tomorrow so wanted to be clear. Might be a good idea to change the labelling?
David
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 10:18 am

by jonathon » Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:47 am

Might be a good idea ...


haha, i think that might count as british. yup, we'll change it.

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am


Return to Help

cron