Jamovi 0.8.2.2 can´t open and create new

General help and assistance with jamovi. Bug reports can be made at our issues page: https://github.com/jamovi/jamovi/issues . (If you're unsure feel free to discuss it here)

by jonathon » Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:00 am

sorry jajaja,

i'm really struggling to figure out what's going on here. there's something slightly unusual about your computer, which is preventing jamovi from working, but i can't figure out what it is.

it does sometimes happen in software development, that a particular computer does something unusual.

i'm not sure i can fix this for now.

i'll keep an eye out for additional reports, and hopefully i'll be able to fix it in the future.

sorrry i can't give you a better response at this time :/

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jajaja » Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:54 pm

Nevermind. Thank you for you effort!
jajaja
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:04 pm

by yuna » Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:35 pm

Hello
I have the exact same problem. I also have to click two times to open jamovi. But when it's open all I see is a blank page without any modules. This was the case for the version 0.8.2.2 but also for the new version 0.8.3.0. My Computer is new (1 month old), Windows 10 home, 64-bit, celeron N3350.
What are the minimum requirements for jamovi?
yuna
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:16 pm

by jonathon » Sun Mar 04, 2018 10:23 pm

hi, could you try creating a jamovi-log.txt file, and sending it in? there's instructions on how to do that earlier in this thread.

with thanks

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by yuna » Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:40 am

Thank you for your help.
Attachments
jamovi-log2.txt
after restart
(192.86 KiB) Downloaded 144 times
jamovi-log1.txt
(192.86 KiB) Downloaded 159 times
with python.jpg
with python.jpg (61.43 KiB) Viewed 1898 times
yuna
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:16 pm

by jonathon » Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:30 pm

ah, thanks this is very useful.

we'll try and have a new version out soon, with a potential fix.

with thanks
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by jonathon » Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:00 pm

hi, can you try this version, and see if it fixes the issue?

https://www.jamovi.org/downloads/jamovi ... -win64.exe

with thanks
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by yuna » Sat Mar 10, 2018 4:47 pm

Hi
I downloaded this new version but I could't install it because it said that I have no authorisation to open the program.
yuna
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:16 pm

by jonathon » Sat Mar 10, 2018 11:30 pm

hi yuna,

i assume you're trying to run this in a "locked down" environment?

could you try the *old* installer (the 0.8.3.0) and see if it gives you the same error? it looks as though there's been a change in policy at your institution, and this is independent of what we've been working on.

as an alternative, you could try the zip file:

https://www.jamovi.org/downloads/jamovi ... -win64.zip

unzip this somewhere, navigate to bin, and run jamovi.exe

(note that where you run it from, can't have international characters in the path, this is a limitation of R)

with thanks
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by yuna » Sun Mar 11, 2018 6:32 pm

Hello,
I'm sorry, it seems that for some reason my virus scanner has blocked jamovi but now after deactivating it I was able to install the new version.
Now after restarting my computer, jamovi opened after the first click but the page is still blank. I also noticed that in the task manager the program opened three times after only clicking on it once.
Attachments
jamovi print screen.PNG
jamovi print screen.PNG (71.09 KiB) Viewed 1849 times
yuna
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:16 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Help