How to randomise a data column using Compute?

General help and assistance with jamovi. Bug reports can be made at our issues page: https://github.com/jamovi/jamovi/issues . (If you're unsure feel free to discuss it here)

by Fhas » Wed Sep 12, 2018 3:02 pm

Hi all,

I am trying to figure out how to randomise a data column for use in further analyses.
This is a common 'surrogate' test for time series analysis.

I can draw random uniform numbers based on 1:NROW and round them, but this obviously doesn't guarantee a clean result. Moreover, it is unclear to me how to use a possible index to reorder the values using compute.

Hop anyone can help, thanks!
Fhas
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 2:55 pm

by jonathon » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:18 pm

hi fhas,

you're trying to sample *without* replacement?

that's something i've been meaning to add - hopefully will get to it soon.

cheers

jonathon
User avatar
jonathon
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:04 am

by Fhas » Mon Sep 17, 2018 1:47 pm

Indeed, sampling without replacement.
Thanks!
Fhas
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 2:55 pm


Return to Help

cron